I agree - this would be really considerate of the team to implement. It feels like low-hanging fruit: I can't imagine it is a huge science project to implement, and it could reduce the amount of time it takes people to do a voting session by half.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .