I'm not sure about mandatory. It might discourage people from voting but if someone votes no, it's probably a good idea to explain why. I've noticed one or two of the same people who seem to down vote the most innocuous topics again and again.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .